Ryan :: Of Craiglist & Pintos

The house is still coming right along .. I feel more sane every day. We are almost completely out of the garage apartment (YAY for ditching the window units!); We have to be out by this weekend, so that’s definitely at the top of the priority list. Hubs has been amazing throughout the entire process .. through our long discussions about paint color (where I basically poured over paint chips and he “listened” while reading something) and his determination to move everything in our first weekend. Although the latter didn’t quite happen, it was due to my continual requests of his help at the new house .. including painting, which I have quickly learned is high on his “my absolute least favorite things to do, but I’ll do it for my wife” list.

In light of the fact that we are moving from a one bedroom apartment to a two bedroom house with a full size living a dining … garage sales and craigslist have been taking up a surprisingly large amount of my time in the last month or so. We have found some amazing things — it just takes some bargaining and being in the right place at the right time. I have been refinishing most of the pieces that we found, but this beauty below is not like the others. It didn’t need any work.. It’s already gorgeous. We drove to Dallas last week to pick up this beauty. The top is made of onyx which, for those of you like me who didn’t know the difference, is similar to marble in that it is just as heavy and strong, but it’s more translucent. I fell in love with this table and even more when I heard the lady’s story about buying it from her elderly Italian neighbor years ago who brought it over from Italy. I can’t imagine wanting to sell this, even if you’re redecorating … I mean you could make this table work anywhere .. but I’m not complaining. Now, it will grace our living room for years to come!

I can’t wait to share some of the refinishing projects I’ve been working on for our office and bedroom. Pictures to come soon (we’re still working on getting the internet wired at the house). For now, I’ll leave you with this interesting sight. You have to know my husband to understand some of the things he gets excited about — but to give you a little background of this picture : Rice and beans are a staple in our home. Not only do they taste good, but they have the right ratio of protein to carbs, they keep us satisfied, and they’re cheap!

When we were first married, we made our first trip to Sams together. Rice and beans were on the list … but I had no idea what we were in for. Of course, Levi wanted to buy the biggest bags they had (50 lbs) because they wouldn’t go bad and we would eat them all at some point. Both valid arguments, but trumped by the fact that storing those bags would mean they would sit in the middle of what we liked to call the “foyer” at the apartment (which also served as home to the washer/dryer and litter box .. all things that I would have most definitely wanted to greet guests). So, I went with the “We can get that when we have a house to store it in” line… Well guess who has been talking about getting the 50 lb bags ever since we signed the papers – most definitely my boy.

This past weekend we made our first Sams trip for the house, which included this bag of pintos. We just finished off the 25 lb bag we bought at the beginning of the year, so we’re thinking this might last us into next summer! Ha! Didn’t I tell you? We eat alot of rice and beans…

Now if we could just remember to bring the tupperware over to the house, we could start taking our lunches again. SO tired of eating out.. It’s sabotaging the workout plan.

2 Responses to “Ryan :: Of Craiglist & Pintos”

  1. I just read an article about beans helping with nausea in pregnancy..maybe that will come in handy one day for you :))

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

