Southern Style Biscuits

 

My parent’s always cooked me and my brother a big Sunday breakfast … We would have eggs, bacon and/or sausage, fruit, toast and biscuits with homemade jelly. The works. Nowadays Dad isn’t allowed to have bacon but once or twice a year – much to his dismay. So it’s a big deal when bacon appears at my parent’s table. The biscuits were normally the ones out of a can. You know, the ones that you peel the wrapper off of and then twist to make them pop open? That was my job .. it still scares me a bit every time, but I love it.

Every now and again, we would make homemade biscuits. Sometimes with honey or cheese mixed in. There’s just something about a homemade biscuit that those out-of-the-can-biscuits don’t have. I love the flaky texture and the imperfections that come with making your own biscuits. They’re really not that difficult to make yourself, and these are ready in 8 minutes – yes, 8 minutes. Before we get to the recipe, let me warn you that it calls for White Lily Self-Rising Flour. I couldn’t find it anywhere but Central Market, but then again I have only looked at two other places. These biscuits make it worth the search.

:: You will need ::

2 cups White Lily Self-Rising Flour

1/4 cup shortening, chilled

3/4 cup buttermilk or milk (I used buttermilk)

:: Let’s get going ::

(1) Preheat the oven to 500 degrees.  I know, that’s hot – that’s why they bake so quickly!

(2) Measure the flour into a large bowl and add the shortening.

(3) Take a pastry blender or two butter knives and cut the shortening into the flour until the crumbs are pea-size.  If you opt for the knife option, make sure the blades are facing away from each other in your hands.  Make an “X” with your arms placing the knives on either side of the bowl and then pull your hands outwards to cut in the shortening.  Blend in just enough milk with a fork until the dough begins to leave the sides of the bowl.

(4)  Flour a working surface and pour the biscuit mixture onto it.  Gently knead the dough together 2 or 3 times.  Then, roll the dough into 1/2 inch thickness.

(5) Cut using floured biscuit cutters or a clean aluminum can.  I was so excited to put our new fluted cutters to use.  Place each biscuit onto a baking sheet coated with cooking spray.  Place them 1-inch apart for crisp sides, or almost touching for soft sides.  I was going for soft.

(6)  Bake the biscuits for 8 to 10 minutes, until they are golden brown.  I cut 12 biscuits, but next time I will double the recipe for 12.  They turned out a little squatty for my taste, but they are delicious!  Especially with a little dollop of homemade fig jam.

 

 

2 Comments to “Southern Style Biscuits”

  1. thank you for sharing… I’m really going to try this recipe!

  2. Oh those biscuits look super good!

Leave a Reply

