Almond Butter

It’s hard to imagine my kitchen without a food processor.  Well, I can… but I don’t want to.  I’ve had mine for over 5 years now, and it’s still kicking like the day I got it.  It’s such an amazing gadget to have on hand for liquefying soups, making hot sauce, chopping nuts, grating carrots and zucchini, and puréeing just about anything. When I discovered almond and walnut butter in Austin (and how expensive it is), I realized I could make my own.. with my processor.

Not only is it much cheaper to make your own, but you can also control the amount of salt in the nut butter and add any extra spices your heart desires. For this batch, I chose cinnamon.  I love cinnamon.  Especially high oil cinnamon.  For those of you who live in DFW, a great place to find it, along with a bundle of other spices and seasonings, is Pendery’s.  It pretty much rocked my world.  They have all kinds of salts, meat rubs, chilis … you name it.  You have to try the jalepeño salt too.. Just a dab will do ya. But for today, almond butter.

:: You will need ::

3 cups whole almonds, raw and unsalted

1 tbsp. cinnamon

2 tsp. fine salt

2 tbsp. olive oil

:: Let’s get going ::

(1) Pour the almonds in the food processor.  Purée the almonds for about 1 minute, or until the mixture stops spinning in the processor.

(2) You will know it is puréed fine enough when the mixture begins to creep up the side of the bowl.


(3) Add the cinnamon and salt into the processor and put the lid back on.  Turn the processor on and add the olive oil through the removable top compartment.

If the mixture hasn’t come together enough after 2 tbsp., feel free to add a little more until it looks like this.

(4) Be sure to refrigerate after putting it into a sealed container.  The almond butter will keep up to 2 months.


Printable version.
Printable version with picture
.

Share

One Comment to “Almond Butter”

Leave a Reply

